Hotel Hidden Charm


Ninh Binh is located in the southernmost part of the Red River Delta (about 93km away from Hanoi to the south), which is a place to link the economic and cultural exchanges between the Northern Delta region and the Northwestern mountainous areas. Being gifted with nature along with a long history, Ninh Binh has many scenic spots and unique historical and cultural relics.

Coming to Ninh Binh, you can't help but be amazed at the beauty of the ancient capital of Hoa Lu, or the majesty of Phat Diem Stone Cathedral, you can freely discover the natural surprises in the ecological cave area of Trang An, Tam Coc - Bich Dong,etc. That is not to mention the intact nature world preserved in Cuc Phuong primeval forest, or the unique, interesting, rich and diverse flora and fauna of Van Long nature reserve, or immerse in Kenh Ga hot spring...

In the documents of the Institute of History and researchers, the destination and the name of Ninh Binh has been found in history books that it has been officially existed since 1822 (the third year of King Minh Mang). Before carrying the destination and the name of Ninh Binh, this place is an ancient land where the people live very early from the Paleolithic era and the relics still remain in the vestiges of Thung Lang (Tam Diep) dating back to 30,000 years; and at Dang Dang cave (Cuc Phuong) between 7000 - 8000 years ago.

This land, in the Qin Dynasty (255-207 BC), belonged to the “Tuong quan”. In the second Chinese domination under the Han dynasty, it belonged to Giao Chi district; in Ngo and Tan dynasty, in Giao Chau; by the end of Luong dynasty, it is “chau Truong Yen” which was also in Giao Chau.

When Dinh Bo Linh finished defeating twelve rebellious warlords, unifying the country to establish Dinh dynasty (968-980) and build the capital in Hoa Lu, then this land was called “chau Dai Hoang” of Dai Co Viet. Until Tien Le dynasty, it was called “Chau Truong Yen”. In Ly dynasty, it was called “phu Truong Yen”, then to be called as “chau Dai Hoang” of Dai Viet. At the beginning of Tran dynasty, it was called Lo and then changed to “Tran Truong Yen”. In the 10th Quang Thai year of Tran Thuan Tong dynasty, it was changed to “Tran Thien Quan”.

Under the Minh dynasty, it was called “chau Truong Yen”.

By the Le dynasty, it was called as in Tran dynasty. In Thieu Binh dynasty under Le Thai Tong's reign, it was divided into 2 “phu (palace)” of Truong Yen and Thien Quan belonging to “Tran Thanh Hoa”. In Hong Duc dynasty, Le Thanh Tong entered these two “phu” into Son Nam Thua Tuyen. The Mac dynasty called these two palaces as Thanh Hoa foreign town separated from Thanh Hoa inner town by Tam Diep mountain range. After the Mac dynasty was destroyed, the Le dynasty brought two “phu” of Truong Yen and Thien Quan to join in Thanh Hoa called as Thanh Hoa foreign town. In Tay Son dynasty, it was also called Thanh Hoa foreign town belonging to the North citadel.

Under the Nguyen Dynasty, in the 5th year of king Gia Long (1806), Thanh Hoa foreign town was changed and called as “Dao Thanh Binh”, still belonging to “tran Thanh Hoa”. In third year of King Minh Mang (1822), the name of “Dao Thanh Binh” was changed to “Dao Ninh Binh”. The name of Ninh Binh has been existed since there, but it was still a “dao” belonging to “Tran Thanh Hoa”. In the 10th year of King Minh Mang (1829), it was officially changed to “Tran Ninh Binh”, placed with rulers called as “Tran thu”, “Hiep Tran” and “Tham hiep” as other “Tran” in the North citadel.

In the 12th year of King Minh Mang (1831), “Tran Ninh Binh” was changed into Ninh Binh province and the “tong tran” of the North citadel has been removed under the administrative reform program of King Minh Mang.

Ninh Binh province under the Nguyen dynasty has 2 “phu” including 7 districts: Phu Yen Khanh including 4 districts of Yen Khanh, Yen Mo, Gia Vien and Kim Son. Phu Thien Quan consists of 3 districts of Phung Hoa, Yen Hoa and Yen Lac.

After the August Revolution (1945), when some provinces had the names of celebrities or historical places, Ninh Binh was named Hoa Lu province for a short time.

After the reunification of the country, in 1976, Ninh Binh was merged with Nam Ha province (including Nam Dinh and Ha Nam) into Ha Nam Ninh province.

In December 1991, the 8th National Assembly, the 10th session decided to reestablish Ninh Binh province in the boundary as before being merged.

During the nearly two-century journey, Ninh Binh has at least 20 changes in administrative units, boundaries and different names, however, basically the boundaries and names are still preserved as present (except for 16 years of consolidation in Ha Nam Ninh province, but the town is still named Ninh Binh). Ninh Binh people have lived continuously on this ancient land for such a long time. Through the development process, Ninh Binh is proud to have been the capital of Dai Co Viet of the three dynasties Dinh - Le - Ly from the end of the 10th century to the beginning of the 11th century and it was the land that once produced the famous, talented historical figures who make the name of the homeland of the country such as national hero Dinh Bo Linh, King Le Dai Hanh, cultural celebrity Truong Han Sieu, National Master Nguyen Minh Khong, etc


 (Source: Information Center for Tourism Promotion - Ninh Binh Department of Tourism)



Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Receive exclusive offers and the latest news